

EARLSMEAD PRIMARY SCHOOL STRUCTURE OF THE GOVERNING BODY

I. The Committee Chairs are as follows:

Chair of the Full Governing Body: Andrew Bethell; Chair of Resources Committee: Susan Moyse Chair of Children's Committee: Andrew Bethell

2. The governing body shall consist of:

- Three parent governors
- One LA governor
- One Staff Governor
- One Headteacher
- Six Co-opted governors

Total number of governors is 12

3. Core strategic functions of the Governing Body include the following:

- 1. ensuring that the vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school is clearly defined;
- 2. ensuring that the Headteacher performs her responsibilities for the educational performance of the school; and
- 3. ensuring the sound, proper and effective use of the school's financial resources.

The School has two Committee's – Resources and Children's Committee which operate according to their Terms of Reference, which are reviewed annually. As authorised by the Governors each Committee has delegated powers; it also reports to the Full Governing Body as required.

The constitution should ensure that the Governing Body is no bigger than necessary to secure the range of skills needed to carry out its functions and should enable it to address its skills and representation needs through the appointment of suitably skilled co-opted, Local Authority and Foundation governors.

Co-opted governors are persons "who, in the opinion of the Governing Body, have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school".

Local Authority governors are persons who are nominated by the Local Authority and appointed by the Governing Body "having, in the opinion of the Governing Body, met any eligibility criteria that has been set".